10th Anniversary Season

Autumn 2016

September 2016 will mark the 10th anniversary of the Symphony Orchestra of India. The programme for the season will feature major works from the orchestral cannon--including Mahler's first symphony and Holst's The Planets. Guest soloists will include the internationally-acclaimed Hungarian violinist Kristóf Baráti and 12-year-old piano prodigy Sanzharali Kopbayev. British conductor Martyn Brabbins will also make his first appearances with the SOI leading two concerts.

September 12, 2016
Martyn Brabbins, conductor
Kristóf Baráti, violin
            Rossini: Overture to La gazza ladra
            Paganini: Violin Concerto No. 1, Op. 6
            Brahms: Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 68
September 17, 2016
Martyn Brabbins, conductor
            Wagner: Prelude and Venusberg Music from Tannhäuser
            Holst: The Planets, Op. 32
September 22, 2016
Zane Dalal, conductor
            Humperdinck: Excerpts from Hansel and Gretel
            Mahler: Symphony No. 1 in D major

September 27, 2016
Marat Bisengaliev, conductor
Sanzharali Kopbayev, piano
            Saint-Saëns: Danse macabre
            Grieg: Piano Concerto, Op. 16
            Elgar: Variations on an Original Theme (‘Enigma’), Op. 36
September 30, 2016
10th Anniversary Gala
Marat Bisengaliev, conductor
Zane Dalal, conductor
           Programme to include:
            Bernstein: Candide Overture
            J. Strauss Jr.: Artists’ Life, Blue Danube Waltzes
            Bizet: Carmen Suite No. 2
            Shostakovich: Festive Overture 

The Symphony Orchestra of India (SOI), based at the National Centre for the Performing Arts (NCPA), Mumbai, is India’s first and only professional orchestra. It was founded in 2006 by NCPA Chairman Khushroo N. Suntook and internationally-renowned violin virtuoso Marat Bisengaliev, who serves as the Orchestra’s Music Director. Zane Dalal was appointed Associate Music Director of the SOI in September 2014, following serving seven years as Resident Conductor.
For more information, click here.