Dan Zhu plays Korngold Violin Concerto / Jacek Kaspszyk, conductor

Sunday, September 17, 2017 at 5:00PM

NCPA Jamshed Bhabha Theatre

Symphony Orchestra of India
Verdi: Overture to Nabucco
Korngold: Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35
Dvoƙák: Symphony No. 7 in D minor, Op. 70 B. 141
The eminent Polish conductor Jacek Kaspszyk has been Music and Artistic Director of the Warsaw Philharmonic Orchestra since the 2013/14 season. One of Poland’s foremost conductors, he has previously held positions as Artistic Director of the NFM Wroclaw Philharmonic, Music Director of the Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra and of the Polish National Opera. He has conducted many major orchestras throughout the world including the Berlin Philharmonic, Bayerischer Rundfunk, RSO Berlin, Orchestra de Paris, the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, and all the major London orchestras.
 “[Kasyszyk] created an atmosphere, which results from great musicality and understanding…” 
- Etelä-Suomen Sanomat
Dan Zhu is widely recognized as one of the finest Chinese musicians on the international stage today. His recent performance with the Boston Symphony at the Tanglewood Festival was hailed by critics as "truly brilliant, compelling, and polished". He has appeared with many orchestras under the direction of such renowned conductors as Zubin Mehta, Philippe Entremont, and Christoph Eschenbach, amongst many others, and has been invited to perform and give master classes at renowned festivals including the Salzburg Festspiele, Tanglewood, Verbier, Schleiswig-Holstein, Ravinia, and Spoleto.
“An artist of affecting humility and beautiful tone production”
- The Strad

For notes on the programme click here

This programme runs 95 minutes, including one intermission.

Box Office Now Open
Tickets: Rs.1600, 1280, 960, 640, 320 plus GST

Season Discount:
For the Autumn 2017 season of the Symphony Orchestra of India, we are offering patrons who purchase tickets for each programme in the season a 10% discount on their purchase. For additional details and terms & conditions, please click here.