Masterworks of Chamber Music: Shostakovich & Mozart

Tuesday, August 9, 2022 at 7:00PM

Experimental Theatre, NCPA

Musicians of the Symphony Orchestra of India
Shostakovich: String Quartet No. 8 in C minor, Op. 110
Mozart: String Quintet No. 4 in G minor, K. 516
Ralph de Souza, former violinist of the Endellion String Quartet, together with members of the SOI perform an evening of chamber music. Shostakovich composed String Quartet No. 8 in Dresden over three days and dedicated it to the victims of fascism and war. Mozart's String Quintet No. 4 is one of two quintets often called "viola quintet”, and created a new ensemble and genre of chamber music that ran through the 19th and 20th centuries. 

Box Office: 26th July for Friends of the SOI and NCPA Members & 29th July for Public